Thank-You Metroland

After 15 plus years working for Metroland I have decided to move on. Instead of dwelling on what could have been I would rather focus on what was. Metroland is the company that taught me the ins and outs of the flyer distribution business and gave me my first opportunity to establish myself as an industry leader. They really did give me every opportunity to flourish and I can never thank them enough for that. It wasn’t until Metroland sold their Kingston product that I decided to start up my own company in FlyerMail (which I would later sell to Metroland) which would turn out to be my biggest break. Metroland really did provide me with the opportunity to grow and help mold me into what I am today.

So lets reflect:

-They allowed me to flourish as A local flyer rep.

-Provided me with industry leading (newspaper media) flyer targeting which in turn allowed me to thrive as an industry sales leader.

-Indirectly influenced me to start up FlyerMail.

-Later purchased FlyerMail to bring me back to Metroland.

-Gave me sales management experience.

-Made me a business development manager driving digital and direct mail.

-Armed me with strong local digital products which lead to my passion and sales success I have today for digital media.

-Provided me with corporate sales experience so I could polish off my advertising sales game adding agency sales experience to my arsenal.

I could add more but would rather keep this short and sweet. As I move on to my next venture so that I can reach my career goals in Toronto I want to take this opportunity to thank everyone at Metroland both employees and management who helped me grow as an advertising sales executive. I am very excited for what’s next but Metroland has played a huge part for my passion in the print/direct mail/digital advertising game.

Follow me on Twitter @GeoffJosey

Leave a Reply

